

2024 NAVAL SUBMARINE LEAGUE DISTINGUISHED CIVILIAN AWARD

For each award nomination, a letter of recommendation and a biography must be submitted by 31 May 2024 to the Naval Submarine League at:

Mailing Address: 405 N Henry Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 Email Address:

communication@navalsubleague.org

The purpose of this award is to recognize the personal contributions of government and industry individuals who have been of extraordinary value to the success of United States Navy Submarine Programs.

The spirit of the award is to recognize those select individuals whose work has been of significant importance to the Submarine Force. Undoubtedly, some will be in high visibility positions. Of equal importance are those individuals who are less visible but whose work is best understood and appreciated by their associates on the submarine team.

There are numerous deserving accomplishments throughout the history of submarines. In the long term, the intended value and prestige of the award dictates no more than two awards annually. The criterion for selecting the achievement to be honored is:

- The accomplishment resulted in a clearly identifiable contribution to the submarine program and/or
- The contribution represented a breakthrough directed at, and important to, one or more aspects of the submarine program

The award is to be made to the most deserving individual(s) when considering the entire history of the submarine program. The Naval Submarine League Board of Directors will evaluate the nominations for final approval. The award will consist of a citation documenting the circumstances of the accomplishment and a plaque which will be presented by the Chairman of the NSL Board at the League's Annual Symposium. An invitation to the Annual Symposium and a Life Membership to the League is also included in the package. The individual's name and picture will be published on the NSL web page and in *The Submarine Review*.

Nominations for the award can be made by any organization/supervisor from any government or private organization with responsibility, past or present, in support the United States Navy Submarine Service. The recipient need not be currently active on the program (posthumous awards are appropriate). Where a single contribution was the close cooperative achievement of more than one individual, a group can be nominated for an award. Such nominations are especially encouraged where the individuals represent different sectors within a given organization.



2024 NAVAL SUBMARINE LEAGUE DISTINGUISHED CIVILIAN AWARD

Previous Award Recipients:¹

1999	Carl H. Schmitt	2012	J. Andrew Razmus & the Hon. John W. Warner
2000	Richard L. Haver	2013	Phillip E. Lantz
2001	Dr. John E. Israelis	2014	Thomas C. Conran
2002	James E. Turner	2015	Richard McNamara ²
2003	Dr. William J. Browning	2016	Dr. Edward G. Liszka
2004	Thomas R. Nutter	2017	G. Daniel Tyler Jr.
2005	Dr. David L. Stanford	2018	Fred Harris & Bill Johnson
2006	Andrew W. Marshall	2019	Sheila M. McNeil & Steven Schulze
2007	Franklin C. Miller ²	2020	Dr. William F. Bundy, Mr. Donald F. McCormack, & Mr. Eric S. Snider
2008	Thomas C. Schievelbein & John K. Welch	2021	Dr. John M. Huckabay
2009	Michael W. Toner	2022	Stephen J. Trautman
2010	Walter P. Kitonis III	2023	CAPT Carl Oosterman, USN (Ret) ²
2011	Dr. Robert M. Snuggs ²		

¹ **Blue text** denotes a government employee

² Awarded to private sector individual for government service